Self Deception

(verse 1)

My legs are shaking from the weight I carry

And I don’t know how long they’ll last

 

My head is throbbing and my brain is full

Like a bomb that’s ready to blow

 

(chorus)

I run

From the secrets that I keep and the lies I tell

 

I walk each day with the weight of my fabricated world

 

And each time I try and get out

I get caught in the web of my own self-deception

 

Cause I’m afraid

 

Afraid of what they think of me

 

Cause i’m afraid

 

To have my falsehoods revealed

 

                                                                                                                                                                                        

So in spite of the pain I will keep it all inside ignore the cracks in my brain

And the shaking of my legs

 

Cause no matter how hard I try

I’m eternally caught in the web of my own self-deception

 

(verse 2)

My chest is concaving

Crushed by the fiction of my past

 

I can’t go a day without my skins pulled back

To think of the lies that that fall to my earth like snow

 

(chorus)

I run

From the secrets that I keep and the lies I tell

 

I walk each day with the weight of my fabricated world

 

And each time I try and get out

I get caught in the web of my own self-deception

 

Cause I’m afraid

 

Afraid of what they think of me

 

Cause i’m afraid

 

To have my falsehoods revealed

 

                                                                                                                                                                                        

So in spite of the pain I will keep it all inside ignore the cracks in my brain

And the shaking of my legs

 

Cause no matter how hard I try

I’m eternally caught in the web of my own self-deception

 

Explanation:

This is a piece that i am very proud of. I put a lot of emotions into it an it was one of the first pieces that I truly opened up and let the world see who I am as a person and as a writer. Some time ago i was writing a journal. The day before that I had been caught in a pretty bad lie. The people who exposed me where two people I consider parents. Through a lot of reflection on my past I figured out that I have a problem with lying. I will lie my way out of any situation, even if it is not necessary. The next day I was very torn up and spent the entire class ignoring what was going on and wrote this long drawn out mess of a page. About three weeks later I was trying to write a song but was having trouble coming up with themes and topics. So I pulled out my journal and flipped to the page. Because it was such a mess I highlighted fragments and words until i had enough. Then i strung them all together into a song. That is how this song was born.

3 thoughts on “Self Deception

  1. Dear Pierce,

    First of all I would like to start off by saying that this was powerful. It was striking. This piece sounds raw and full of emotion, and I appreciate that you’ve shared this with us all.

    As for advice, which was hard to find, I think that you could end your free choice by separating your last line into two likewise:

    I’m eternally caught in the web

    of my own self-deception.

    This would bring emphasis to the last four words, and connect the last word, “self-deception,” back to the title.

    Once again, I greatly enjoyed this free choice and I wonder whether or not the spoken word by Shane Koyczan inspired this.

    Sincerely,
    Unas

  2. Dear Pierce,
    This is my first true impression to you as a writer and person, and my I say you have definitely left a mark. First, I love that you took the form of a song, I have never seen that before I think it gives insight to who you are and your connection to music. Second, I really found your themes well threaded throughout the piece, with the chorus acting as a theme statement.

    An area for improvement: I think for readers to understand the song better, an explanation should be added so we can get a better understanding of the piece.

    I can’t wait to read what else you create in your journey.

    Sincerely,
    Kemi

  3. Dear Pierce,

    I think this is an incredible piece and I really commend you for taking the time to sit down for a song. It really pulls out the emotions you were trying to convey and shows you as a writer. I really appreciate you getting vulnerable to write this as it is a piece more people need to see.

    My one criticism is that you could make your verse 1 and 2 a bit longer to balance with the length of the chorus.

    I can’t wait to read more of your writing.

    Love,
    Sydney

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *